25 Years of CEAS

CEAS has celebrated its 25 year anniversary. In 1986, the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DGLR), the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) and the Association Aéronautique et Astronautique de France (3AF) began a series of regular meetings to review and discuss European co-operation issues. This led to a more formal organization when, 25 years ago at the 1992 Farnborough Air Show, the three organizations, along with Associazione Italiana di Aeronautica e Astronautica (AIDAA), launched CEAS. CEAS was formally instituted one year later at the Paris Air Show. In 1995, AIAE (Spain) and NVvL (The Netherlands) came on board, followed by FTF (Sweden) and SVFW (Switzerland) in 1996. These eight bodies formed the core of the original Confederation of European Aerospace Societies (CEAS). Since then CEAS has changed its legal status into a council, now with 13 national aeronautical societies representing roughly 35.000 individual aeronautical professionals all over Europe.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary, a booklet has been published about the CEAS history, authored by  Prof. Keith Hayward. First copies of the book were handed out on 16 October 2017 by the CEAS president Christophe Hermans to those CEAS past presidents present at the CEAS Aerospace Europe Conference 2017, being Georges Bridel (SWFW), Joachim Szodruch (DGLR), Pierre Bescond (3AF) and Fred Abbink (NVvL) as token of appreciation for their efforts towards CEAS. Also all delegates at the conference received the book as a present of CEAS.

25 Years of CEAS: Building the European Aerospace Science base
CEAS past-presidents receive first copy from CEAS president (Valentin Silivestru, Pierre Bescond, Fred Abbink, Christophe Hermans, Georges Bridel and Joachim Szodruch)